Governing Body

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education.

Our school governors have a wide range of experience and expertise that plays an important strategic role in the development of our school.

Foundation Governors are appointed for a four-year term by the Episcopal Vicar for Schools and Colleges, on behalf of the Archbishop, to represent the interests of the Trustees of the Archdiocese or, in schools under the Trusteeship of a Religious Order, by the person approved by the Order to make such appointments to serve the interests of their Trusteeship, working under the authority of the Archbishop. For primary schools they are nominated by the Parish Priest. Foundation Governors form the majority on a Catholic school’s governing body. They have the responsibility of assisting the Bishop, by sustaining and developing the Catholic ethos and distinctive Catholic nature of the school in which they serve. They have a specific commission that takes the form of an undertaking to ensure that the school is at all times conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Archdiocesan Trust Deed.

Parent Governors are elected by the parents in school. Parent governors provide a parental viewpoint, though they are representative parents rather than representatives of parents.

The staff governor is nominated by the staff in the school. The head and parish priest are also governors. The LA governor is appointed by the local authority. All of these governors have full voting rights.

An associate member also provides the governing body with an additional skill set and perspective though they do not have voting rights in the full governing body meetings.


Governors at St. Joseph's Catholic Primary School:

Mr. J. Shaw - Chair of Governors

Vacant - Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs L. Robinson - Head Teacher Governor

Mrs C. Howarth - Staff Governor

Fr. S. Molloy - Foundation Governor

Vacant - Foundation Governor

Mr J. Hawkes - Foundation Governor

Mr. Beckwith - LEA Governor

Mr D Greenwood - Parent Governor


Mr. M. Moran - Associate Member

Mrs C. Vincent - Associate Member


Abigail Holmes - Clerk to Governors


Named Governors:

Safeguarding inc Child protection, LAC

Daniel Greenwood


Robert Beckwith


John Hawkes


John Shaw

Pupil Premium


RE/Catholic Life

Fr Molloy, Mike Moran

Performance management

Mike Moran, Jackie Kirton, Fr Molloy, John Shaw

Governor forum rep/ TSA rep

John Shaw


Robert Beckwith

PE/ Sports Premium






Pay and staffing

Vacant (chair)

 Daniel Greenwood (chair)

Mike Moran (chair)

Louise Robinson

Louise Robinson

Louise Robinson

John Shaw

John Hawkes

John Shaw

Mike Moran



 John Hawkes

Catherine Vincent

Fr Molloy

 Paul Murphy (guest - bursar)

John Hawkes

Daniel Greenwood

Christine Lee (guest - business manager) 



Year group responsibility:

EYFS: Catherine Vincent

Y1: Vacant

Y2: John Shaw

Y3: Fr Molloy

Y4: Daniel Greenwood

Y5: John Hawkes

Y6: Vacant


Governor attendance