Governing Body/ Academy Council

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. They make up the school's 'Local Academy Council' which works with the Blessed Christopher Wharton Catholic Academy Trust (BCWCAT).

Our school governors have a wide range of experience and expertise that plays an important strategic role in the development of our school.

Foundation Governors are appointed for a four-year term by the Episcopal Vicar for Schools and Colleges, on behalf of the Archbishop, to represent the interests of the Trustees of the Archdiocese or, in schools under the Trusteeship of a Religious Order, by the person approved by the Order to make such appointments to serve the interests of their Trusteeship, working under the authority of the Archbishop. For primary schools they are nominated by the Parish Priest. Foundation Governors form the majority on a Catholic school’s governing body. They have the responsibility of assisting the Bishop, by sustaining and developing the Catholic ethos and distinctive Catholic nature of the school in which they serve. They have a specific commission that takes the form of an undertaking to ensure that the school is at all times conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Archdiocesan Trust Deed.

Parent Governors are elected by the parents in school. Parent governors provide a parental viewpoint, though they are representative parents rather than representatives of parents.

The staff governor is nominated by the staff in the school. The head and parish priest are also governors. All of these governors have full voting rights.

An associate member also provides the governing body with an additional skill set and perspective though they do not have voting rights in the full governing body meetings. We do not currently have any Associate Governors.


Governors at St. Joseph's Catholic Primary School:

Foundation ex officio:       Canon Jim Callaghan

Chair of Governors:           Paul Copley

Vice Chair of Governors:   Ben Pickles

Head Teacher Governor:   Louise Robinson

Staff Governor:                Kim Nugent

Foundation Governors:      John Hawkes

   Angela Cook

   Mark Beckett

   Elizabeth Firth

Parent Governors:             Ben Pickles

                                         Tanya Hook


Clerk to Governors:          Abigail Holmes


Named Governors:


Safeguarding inc Child protection, LAC

Mark Beckett


Mark Beckett

Health & Safety

John Hawkes


Angela Cook

Pupil Premium/PE & Sports Premium





The Blessed Christopher Wharton Catholic Academy Trust

This diagram shows how the Local Academy Council (Governors) fits into the structure of the trust.

Please see the tab about the BCWCAT Trust for further details about the Trust, or go to their website: and go to their Governance section.

Governor attendance